Photo of Schumacher Law Group's office building

Experience Matters. Turn To A Former Judge and Prosecutor For Your Case.

Fighting A First-Time DUI Charge In Oklahoma

A first-time DUI can feel like the end of the world – but you do have options.

At Schumacher Law Group, we have successfully represented many first-time clients here in Norman, Purcell and throughout the state. As a former prosecutor and judge, founding attorney Tracy Schumacher is uniquely positioned to understand how the other side thinks.

How Are First-Time DUI Charges In Oklahoma Treated?

In Oklahoma, a first-time DUI charge is classified as a misdemeanor. However, some circumstances can make this charge a felony. For example, if you are involved in an incident that caused injury or death or have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15% or more, you may receive a felony charge.

What Are The Penalties For A First-Time DUI In Oklahoma?

In Oklahoma, first-time DUI penalties will depend on your circumstances. However, the most common penalty for a first-time DUI is a combination of fines ranging from $100 to $1,000, mandatory participation in an alcohol education program and a minimum 30-day license suspension.

Can A First-Time DUI Offense Be Dismissed?

In many cases, this is possible. You may be eligible for a pretrial diversion program or be able to have the charges reduced to reckless driving.

What Happens If You Are Under 21 And Have A Fake ID?

You could face fines and license suspension if you are under 21 and have a fake ID. Also, you can be charged with possessing a fake ID, a misdemeanor offense in Oklahoma.

What Are Common Ways To Fight DUI Charges?

Fighting a DUI charge in Oklahoma can include:

  • Challenging the traffic stop’s legality
  • Questioning the BAC’s test accuracy
  • Arguing a lack of probable cause for the arrest

Even if you plead guilty or are convicted, it may be possible to eventually expunge your record so that the incident becomes confidential.

Facing Your First DUI? Talk To Us.

At Schumacher Law Group, we have skilled DUI lawyers who can help you navigate the legal system and fight the charges against you. Contact us at 405-389-2260 or online to discuss your case and learn more about your options.